Women Modellers?

Hi - I have just joined Ships of Scale and so thankful to have found this site. I have been building model ships for a few years now. My father started building model boats when he retired and encouraged me to try it. Unfortunately he passed away in 2021 so I lost my mentor and the person I turned to with questions. I have completed a number of kits. A few kits I am relatively happy with but most I wouldn't show to anyone LOL! Especially after seeing some of the beautiful kits people have shown on this website! My problem always seems to be with planking - among other things. I have watched so many videos, read books and tried so many different techniques but still cant get it right. I am looking forward to reading the forums and getting to know some other modellers. Also, it seems this is a male dominated hobby so I would be really interested in meeting other women who have taken up this hobby.

Also, it seems this is a male dominated hobby so I would be really interested in meeting other women who have taken up this hobby.

your not alone meet

w1.JPG

My problem always seems to be with planking - among other things. I have watched so many videos, read books and tried so many different techniques but still cant get it right.

we have several topics on planking

WELCOME MARY YES THERE SHOULD BE A LOT OF WOMEN IN THIS HOBBY THERE ABSOLUTLY SHOULD CHECK OUT OLYA HERE ON SOS GREAT MODELER GREAT TEACHER, YOU ARE NOT ALONE WITH PLANKING THE LAST DECENT PLANKING MODEL WAS 14 YEARS AGO, STILL TRYING THOUGH MY SOLUTION POF BUILDS MINOR PLANKING MORE INTERESTING BUILDS AND NICER FINISHED MODELS JUST ME. GOD BLESS STAY SAFE YOU AND YOURS DON

Welcome aboard the forum Mary, many good folks here who can help you learn about planking.

There are several postings in general help section on planking.

What part of the USA are you from, maybe you are close to another member of SoS.

Mary, let me also welcome you aboard.