Willie Bennett Skipjack circa '30s build log- warts and all

Hello Members,

I've decided that my next model is going to be of the Skipjack Willie Bennett. The kit is by Model Shipways. This is my first build log, so please be gentle. Ah, everyone is super supportive here, I'm not worried.

A little about my experience with the hobby thus far. My first model was the Niagara from Model Shipways. I did some surprisingly nice work here and there, but I was in over my head. I tried another model of the same caliber but that never got to the finish line either. Along the way I learned a lot, and accumulated a lot of do-dads and funky tools, etc... I put the hobby down for about 8 years. I got rid a lot of my stuff and considered giving Niagara a fireship burial at sea.

During COVID, I became more interested and decided to start again. I ordered the Gunboat Philadelphia. Not super hard and I was doing a nice job, even learned how to splice rope to make some great stropped blocks (the trick is beeswax). But I had a disagreement with a can of stain and that was that. I wasn't thinking far enough ahead on the build, rookie mistake. I finally decided I needed to back up and start from the start.
1684680525425.png
(Blocks to rig the guns on Gunboat Philadelphia. I made SO many hooks to get the shape and size right (literally months) and taught myself a full-sized short splice and then worked forever on doing it at scale, giving up many times. I still have my first successful splice I made before making a looped splice and plan to keep it in a place of honor. The blocks are 9mm)

I decided to build the set of boats in the Model Shipwright's series, David Antscherl's tutorial series from Model Shipways. With the extra detail and smaller scope, I was able to make some pretty fantastic model (IMHO). One advantage -besides Mr. Antscherl's detailed instructions- were all the pre-cut parts. I'll get back to that. I'm also competent with an airbrush, which helps a lot.