Roter Löwe - Red Lion - Mamoli 1:55 - Restoration by Valmiki [COMPLETED BUILD]

Even though this model wasn't built by me but by my father over 30 years ago and it is actually a restoration, I was advised to create a Log and here I am.

Just bear in mind that this project is already finished but I will detail it as much as possible. Also I would like to point out that I have no experience with ship building. Picked my skills from around in the web and ideas that came up. This is second work and hopefully I got things better than my first.

01.jpg

Last edited:
My father built this ship around 1988, so quite a while ago. He had no idea what he was doing, always had huge hands and working in building construction had not patience nor practice with tiny pieces. I have no idea how he made this ship but last year I went to visit him and found out that the ship crashed while moving to his new apartment.
This below are a few pictures to give you an idea of the situation.
06.jpg
05.jpg
04.jpg
06.jpg
02.jpg

As you can see plenty of dust. Rigging completely gone. All cannons broken. The paint was pealing off all over the places

07.jpg

And under the dust a lot of details were missing or were wrong.

My idea was to give credit to my father's work and give him back something worth of displaying at home.

First things first.
I had no idea how to do the rigging. I needed some plans. So after some research I found the main plans for this ship but no details for the rigging. Well, it is a beginning.
Secondly, in order to fix things I had to be able to get my hands inside the belly of this beast ... or at least a pair of tweezers.
So I started dismounting as many parts as I could and cataloguing everything in order to help me out putting things back.

08.jpg

09.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

13.jpg

18.jpg

... and started to toy a bit with the planking coz I was getting a bit bored with destroying
14.jpg