Norwegian Sailing Pram from Model Shipways Building Log

This is my first building log. This is the second wooden ship I have built. I have done plastic models for many years. I found the Ship of Scales site and decided to dip my toe in after reading for a few months. My first build was the Grand Banks Dory, which I found to be a lot of fun. My sailing pram arrived in a well packed box with no missing parts. The instruction manual is very detailed, as it was for the Dory.

I first started with the transom pieces for the bow and stern, which were easy to assemble after reading the description in the building manual. While the stern transom, which is two pieces was drying I made the building board.

IMG_8278.jpeg

Last edited:
As several others have notes the stern transom holder on the building board is prone to break. So of course I broke it and had to glue it back together. Supported it during the build with a clamp. I freed the keel board and sanded off the char. I then placed it in a thermos of hot water for a few minutes and bent it to fit the transom pieces and the build mould using rubber bands and clamps. I let it set for a few hours then removed it. I followed this procedure with all the planks, which while it takes time, really made it easy to build the hull. After beveling the ends as per instructions, I used the hot water to shape the two bottom planks.

IMG_8286.jpeg

You can note the modified binder clips that I used as clamps. I found them helpful, they are not an invention of mine but were discussed in the instructions for the Dory. Note also the clamp on the stern transom and the rubber band I used to hold the stern transom in place during the build.