Chaperon 1884 Stern Wheeler

I want to thank all of you who have looked in on my continued build. I appreciate the likes and comments.

So.. a little ship building humor. Or what has this to do with the Chaperon Build???? Any guesses???

IMG_4301.jpeg

No it's not a Hobby Horse for the Chaperon's Captain son. ROTF

Jan

Yup,I'm a novice and really have no idea of what I'm doing, but I think I'v stumbled across a minor problem.

The Stern Timbers.

IMG_4303.jpeg

I've held off on doing the fancy scroll edging until I had the stern timbers in place. The red arrow points to the location for the start of the 2nd timber (red line) as per plan sheet #3.

IMG_4305.jpeg
This shows the timbers butted up. Fortunately I didn't make two of these, because they would not have fit.

To further confuse the issue this plan shows another configuration.

IMG_4304.jpeg

And also this plan

IMG_4306.jpeg

So there you have it.

I'm to going to think about this over a couple of Beers.

Hmm, maybe I should go do something Knotical for a couple of days.

Jan

Yup,I'm a novice and really have no idea of what I'm doing, but I think I'v stumbled across a minor problem.

The Stern Timbers.

View attachment 445543

I've held off on doing the fancy scroll edging until I had the stern timbers in place. The red arrow points to the location for the start of the 2nd timber (red line) as per plan sheet #3.

View attachment 445544
This shows the timbers butted up. Fortunately I didn't make two of these, because they would not have fit.

To further confuse the issue this plan shows another configuration.

View attachment 445545

And also this plan

View attachment 445546

So there you have it.

I'm to going to think about this over a couple of Beers.

Hmm, maybe I should go do something Knotical for a couple of days.

Jan
Hi Jan. I will look tomorrow in Alan Bates Cyclopedium. I think he has some drawing about the construction of the stern wheel.
Regards, Peter