USCG Harriet Lane for the United States Navy 1859 - Build Log NCC (Navy-Curtis Craft) Scale 1:96

BMT

After too much coffee while working on the Civil War Wagon and then a short rest, it was time to look at another build.

I purchased the Harriet Lane in March and didn't know if I would get to it until perhaps this November. However, I now have more free time with many things changing, so I figured I would get building.

The first thing that struck me was that this build is noted as an "advanced skills kit." I feel I am a beginner, but when I said that to a few of my friends, they told me I am a novice. That is someone new at performing or doing something and somewhat educated. While a beginner is basically someone who is clueless with no clue at all, and has not yet achieved any experience for the activity being deliberated. That sounds like something they read on the www. It's semantics, and I know I don't have advanced skills. As I read in the instruction book, it notes, "strongly recommend that you build the Model Shipways pram or Muscongus Bay lobster smack kit first. That way, you will learn techniques and acquire the tools needed to successfully complete this model." If this is 'the fourth in a series of progressive model tutorials," as noted, and I have done all 3 of those in the Shipways series, I feel a little more comfortable diving into the build.

We shall see...

BMT

tempImageS9UmFl.pngtempImageTRpOQu.pngtempImageS7VxmE.pngtempImageByG90I.pngtempImagehatoJI.pngtempImageuE2sj2.png

I started the build with the central spine, bulkhead spacers, and bulkheads, and it went rather smoothly up to the inner stem and stern post.