Understanding lumber measurements

I'm new to wood ship building as my wife purchased the Endeavour 1:64 scale for me (not a beginner model). I'm clueless to the measurements given in the plans. I have a caliper thinking it would help, but it doesn't. I have about 120 hours in just completing the hull as far as staining, painting, rudder assembly (damn those little brads on hinges). I need some help in deciphering the wood to use like what is 2x5x600, 2x5x40 and so on. Any help is greatly appreciated.

the 2 x 5 x 600 the 600 is the give away the measurements are in mm seeing your US flag we americans use inches and i think the rest of the world uses millimeters
so to convert the measurements to inches there are charts for that

2mm = about 3/32 or .0937 5mm = 13/63 or .2031 and the 600mm = i don't know it is off the chart

d to mm.png

I'm new to wood ship building as my wife purchased the Endeavour 1:64 scale for me (not a beginner model). I'm clueless to the measurements given in the plans. I have a caliper thinking it would help, but it doesn't. I have about 120 hours in just completing the hull as far as staining, painting, rudder assembly (damn those little brads on hinges). I need some help in deciphering the wood to use like what is 2x5x600, 2x5x40 and so on. Any help is greatly appreciated.
easy (for european), but I guess it is the same when I read a measure like 1/4 etc. -> I do understand nothing

2*5*600 this is a strip of 600mm or 60cm length with a square of 2mm to 5mm (so width is 5mm and thickness is 2mm)

2*5*40 - a shorter piece with 40mm or 4cm length, thickness of 2mm and width of 5mm

Coming from the generation in Canada that started out with Imperial units and then went metric in the 70's, my world is a mix of both and I flip between them without thinking about it. I drive in kilometres but in my shop I'm all about inches. My thermometer temperatures are Celsius, but I bake in Fahrenheit. So yeah, kind of messed up. :)