Tools and Jigs

Hello all,

I am searching for good resources for ship building tools and jigs. Also how to videos...I have seen a number of videos on YouTube but am looking for those that aren’t available there.

I am brand new to the hobby and don’t want to spend a fortune on unneeded/unnecessary things but don’t mind spending the money on quality tools and jigs that are needed. I have been building scale model airplanes for about a year or so and I love it but want to expand my skills into ships. I am familiar with on-line hobby shops and Micro Mark and am looking for the ship building speciality sites/stores.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

Any advice on what ship/kit to start with would also appreciated. I have thought about the Occre Albatros or Polaris.
Thanks,

FrankJ

Last edited:
Hi Frank, welcome to the best ship site on earth. You'll find tons of great info on ship modelling in the build logs. The guys who log show and tell how they do each step, it's the most invaluable tool you can get.

https://modelexpo-online.com/ has an ok selection of tools to get started with, but Ebay is also your friend, usually lower prices and Model Expo sells there too.

Now I'll let the guys more advanced and more knollagable than me chime in, they'll fix you right up :)

Hello all,

I am searching for good resources for ship building tools and jigs. Also how to videos...I have seen a number of videos on YouTube but am looking for those that aren’t available there.

I am brand new to the hobby and don’t want to spend a fortune on unneeded/unnecessary things but don’t mind spending the money on quality tools and jigs that are needed. I have been building scale model airplanes for about a year or so and I love it but want to expand my skills into ships. I am familiar with on-line hobby shops and Micro Mark and am looking for the ship building speciality sites/stores.