Ship modeling magazines

Greetings, I am new to ship modeling and I am wondering if there are any dedicated ship modeling magazines available in English or French? I know of Model Boats magazine but wondering if there are others, that are specific to wooden sailing ships. Or back issues available? Thanks.

you can get Ships in scale and model ship builder on CDs

Hi Dave, wow those are great resources, thank you. Do the current issues of Nautical Research Journal include the plans for articles featuring scratch built models, like the Viking ship in the Spring 2022 issue? I will definitely place an order for these.

i have nothing to do with the NRG i just happen to know they have the NRG journal, Ships in Scale and Model ship builder on CDs
at one time you could order copies of just single articles i do not know if they still do that

i suggest contacting the NRG and ask them

I like the old magazine "Model Shipwright" which was launched in 1972 by Conway Maritime Press very much, which was stopped several years ago.
In the meantime I have all of them.......

as an example a photo from an ebay seller

s-l1600.png

I'm getting close to having a complete collection of "Model Shipwright".

For its time it was a marvelous publication; the internet was years away, but many of its features are still relevant.

But it also makes you aware of how technology facilitates the bewildering access most of us now have, to information of all kinds in high definition colour.

Even 'Star Trek' is old hat now.

It appears these back issues are quite pricey. Hopefully I will be able to find some issues at a reasonable price.

I started my collection, buying a heap at a car boot (yard sale?).
Many more came via ebay, often at low prices....it's the postage which is the killer.

Stefano, you might consider updating your profile to list your location in Canada.

We have many members up north and one me be near you that you can meet or great and get help from to build your skills.