Santa Maria 1:65 based on Amati kit

Hello everyone,

I wanted to share my progress on the Santa Maria 1:65 ship model that I've been building for a few months now.
Initially, I started with an Amati kit, thinking it would be an "easytobuild" straightforward project lasting only a couple of months. However, after obtaining books by X. Pastor and W. zu Mondfeld, I decided to deviate from the kit instructions. Now, it's hard to determine if I'm building from a kit as many details and elements are designed absolutely from scratch by myself.

The more I diverge from the instructions, the more fascinating the process becomes.

I would like to share my journey with all of you.
However, considering that the ship is already approximately 30% built, I don't think it would make sense to start this log from the very beginning.
Instead, I believe it would be more practical to begin from the current stage.

What are your thoughts on this?

Here is the current stage of the model as of June 09, 2023 (construction is still ongoing).
MVV_5773.jpg

Please scroll down for actual building log posts.

Last edited:
Personally speaking - I would eagerly follow your build from this point. Your work on that CNC transom adds a dimension beyond my skill set so that has now gotten my attention.
Dear Paul,
Thank you. Yes, now, at least at this stage of the process, I see more and more necessary in CNC machining of some parts. I work on the admiral's cabin now where I have to precisely join many details with special corners (none are 90° ☺). So I do not know what would I do without a CNC :)

After reading your excellent threads on the windlass and capstan you CNC-machined, as well as your CNC composite machining (both truly amazing), how could I NOT follow this thread. Kudos on your videos, as well; I have a new Youtube channel! :)

Dear everyone, thank you for your kind words!

Let's get started.