Sail Questions

Good day all,
I have a question. Last year I went to the Tall Ship Festival in St. John, New Brunswick. One of the ships had a sail tied into a bundle with a single line that appeared to release it.
Please see the picture.
My questions are:
What is this called?
Can it be duplicated accurately on a model?
Have any of you done this?

Many thanks_DSC4978 a-Exposure small.jpg

Last edited:
Anchorman - 1st off, a good picture of furled sails on bowsprit. 2nd, I'll be following any responses to this as well. I'm new at rigging and I am at the stage to use furled sails on my Bluenose kit so I am asking myself the same type of questions. Thanks for this post ;) Cheers!

Paul - Thank you for posting this thread. It gives a me some good understanding with the diagrams and explanations of some of the rigging used. I'll try to to 'pull some thread' instead of 'pulling some hairs' over this. Cheers and thanks for responding to Anchorman's question(s). ;)

You will like the document, very interesting

You will like the document, very interesting

Hello Anchorman - are you currently working on rigging a model ship? I'm trying figure out the running lines for the Bluenose. Great to see you had an adventure with visiting the Tall Ships! Take care and here's to learning some new skills. Cheers!

Hello Anchorman - are you currently working on rigging a model ship? I'm trying figure out the running lines for the Bluenose. Great to see you had an adventure with visiting the Tall Ships! Take care and here's to learning some new skills. Cheers!