Retired with Plenty of Time

Greetings,

I am a retired electrical engineer who became fascinated by the Age of Sail back in the early 2000's when Pirates of the Burning Sea was in development and Master & Commander: On the Far Side of the World was released on film. I also became excited about the wooden model ship hobby. I read a lot about it, acquired many books, and tools, and even built a 4 x 8 foot model table with a sliding work surface and a lazy Susan on top to rotate my work to whatever angle I needed.

As with most things in life, my enthusiasm exceeded my ambition. For my first wood ship model, I went whole hog and bought the Caldercraft kit of the HMS Diana. I had the anatomy of a ship book on the same and studied everything I could find about wooden model building and the HMS DIana.

One of the things Caldercraft did with the kit was to not model the interior of the great room in the stern. They instead ran the keel up to the main deck level, with some supports that blocked a couple of the rear windows. I saw that someone had modified their Caldercraft kit to build out the great room with a Nelson black & white checkered floor and the modeler provided me with detailed photos of his build.

I got as far as assembling the keel & frame structure, and planked the gun deck, which was when things started to go working. The glue I was using caused the deck to warp with a port/starbord convex curvature. Following the Caldercraft instructions, I cut the gun deck down the center to facilitate installation in the hull, but the warpage became more accentuated, leaving a very visible gap between the halves, going down the center of the ship.