New to SOS, about to build a work station

I found Donnie's build log while surfing recently, and it has inspired me to fulfill a lifelong dream of building ship models. I retired in 2006 from teaching systems analysis and design and programming classes at the university level, and when we lived in the San Francisco Bay Area I sailed as often as possible.

Please help me design my work station. I will take any and all suggestions to heart. I've been building furniture for almost 40 years now, so it will be possible to incorporate your design recommendations into the ideal work space for building wooden ship models--usually in the 1:100 scale range (hopefully around 36 inches from tip of bowsprit to tip of main boom). Bluenose and Flying Fish are in my build inventory (both from Model Shipways), but I won't start on them until I've built the work area.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Bill

Welcome aboard. There are a few people that have shared there work station on the forum. An easy and cheap way to start is with a card table. You are working in miniature. A place to keep parts and tools. Ax you are working on the kits, you will find out what tools you need and those that you want. The saying that you learn by experience really applies to this hobby.

Gary,

Thanks for your encouragement. My wife bought me a T-shirt years ago that at least somewhat describes me: "Rule 1--you can't have too many tools" and "Rule 2--refer to rule 1." She always allowed me to have at least one new tool for each project, and in many years of furniture building I've had lots of "needs" for new tools. As you know, it is even more important to use the tools; and I plan to get rolling soon. Donnie shared a U-shaped table design with me, and with his permission I will post that.

Bill

Anja,