How to paint metal on transom of Rattlesnake

JKB

I am new to "intermediate skill level models Need help in how to make the metal decoration on stern of Rattlesnake look real. Help would be appreciated.
JKB

Attachments

• IMG_8697 (002).JPG
    IMG_8697 (002).JPG
    340.5 KB · Views: 21
I saw this answer some place , can't remember just where. The suggestion I saw and have tried is to take a soft pencil eraser (I used a 1x2" white rubber eraser) dip it into a tray of gold paint and dab off most of it. Then dab onto the surface of the decoration gently, little by little. Worked well, a little clean up of the details and it should be much easier than hand painting ! Pics are of the first attempt.

Attachments

• thumbnail_20211120_172456.jpg
    thumbnail_20211120_172456.jpg
    282.5 KB · Views: 36
  • thumbnail_20211120_172657.jpg
    thumbnail_20211120_172657.jpg
    327.7 KB · Views: 37
Bare metal foil? I have a lot of experience with it on cars, but not on ships.

Similar to what Jeanco suggested, I have used gold leaf for some non-ship projects and had good success. Dry-brushing would also work. It is similar to the eraser technique Karl described, but might give better control. Another option is AK Interactives Real Metal, which is a wax-based buffable paint. It produces very convincing metallic finishes and comes in a variety of colors.

On my Rattlesnake I started with breaking apart the kit white metal transom decoration into three pieces. The middle piece, the actual rattlesnake, I I gilded. The other two flanking pieces I sprayed with primer then a base coat of black. Then I just gilded the raised portions of the two flanking pieces. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.