Grreeting from Big Sky Country

• Thread starter CharlesEdward
  • Start date
  • Watchers 2
C

CharlesEdward

Just dropping in to introduce my self to this forum. My name is John Kershisnik and am living in Townsend Montana. I use SirCharlesEdward as my internet name in most cases and recently became a widower, hence I am spending more time on my hobby then before.

I have been building wooden ship models since 1975, when I purchased my first kit in Long Beach California where I was stationed for some six months in the US Navy. It was from a local hobby shop and was the Sergal kit HMS Sharke, since then I have completed six additional kits so far; Mantua's Santa Maria, Artesania Latina's the USS Dallas and the Scottish Maid, Corel's Half Moon and from C.Mamoli the yacht Mary and the Golden Hind. I am not yet retired so I am in my hobby shop most weekends and holidays, but am looking forward to a daily activity in about seven years or so.

Before 1975 I was into plastic models of all kinds but eventually concentrated on historical sailing ships. After doing that through Junior High and High School, I became busy with friends and other activities but always missed ship model kit building. When I jostled into that small hobby shop in Long Beach my interest was once again ignited. I recently went a a purchasing binge and have a total of nine kits on the shelves. Yes nine, well really six are assembled up to the first planking and three are still in boxes but I thouroughly checked them out to ensure nothing seemed to be missing from them.