Char removing

I think this is the area for general discussion. I am new to ship modeling and this forum. So if I have made an error I apologize. My question is I am removing the char from the edges of the laser cut pieces, just how well does this need to be done. If there is still a little color but no loose char is that sufficient? Also to clean out the slots are there any special tools, thanks for any advice you may provide.

I think this is the area for general discussion. I am new to ship modeling and this forum. So if I have made an error I apologize. My question is I am removing the char from the edges of the laser cut pieces, just how well does this need to be done. If there is still a little color but no loose char is that sufficient? Also to clean out the slots are there any special tools, thanks for any advice you may provide.
I would say:
It depends ......

Are you asking this in general, or related to a special part of a kit?

It depends f.e. if the surface where the char is or was visible or not - do you have to glue it and which kind or type of glue you will use......

Hey Doug,
I'm also relative new to modeling and I've found that asking questions here in SOS will result in someone taking the time to answer one's questions. No need to apologize for errors though, at least I'm very sure I'm making my share of those.
About char removal, I think it's rather personal, but I like to remove it as good as I can from every single piece, not caring whether or not the parts remain visible. There are a few parts in my current build where I didn't dare going any further, because the marking was do se so deep into the material that the parts would have become too thin, so some char is still visible, but will be painted later on.
Have fun!
Johan

Many thanks to Johan
one additional remark related to