Belaying Question

I’m working on the Gerard Schmitt kit of the Prince de Neufchâtel (1/64 scale). I’m finally at the rigging stage and have noticed that according to the diagrams, there are numerous instances where at least two lines belay to the same pin. I’m new at this, so I feel like it’s a major accomplishment just to get one line properly belayed. There doesn’t appear to be enough room on the pin to property tie off a second line.

Is this just another example of practice, experience, and perseverance making it better? Am I using incorrect line or pins? Is the pin rail too thick? For all of the above I’m using what was supplied with the kit. Is there a specific method I should be using or anything else that I should be doing?

Taking advantage of the years of experience, expertise, and advice from the experts on this forum has been tremendous, I had no idea that all you guys were out here. Thanks again from a baby newby.

Take a look at this topic in which the same problem was discussed - there you can find also several drawings and photos

BTW: there are three contemporary drawings existing of the ship (made after her capture)- not really helping for the actual problem, but nice to know about them

Prince 3.jpg

Prince.jpg

prince2.jpg

I'm sure it probably occurred, but I would think not as a general rule.
It would be a mess of lines if they needed to modify the line belayed below the top one. They would have to remove the top line to haul on the lower line. It would really be a mess. But that is just my opinion and I have no documentation to back it up.

Also, I have never seen any documentation to note 2 lines (or more) belayed to the same point on any drawings of real ships. But then again, I've not made it my life ambition to examine all the belaying points on all the plans available. :D