Another Question About Linseed Oil

Is there any reason NOT to use acrylic paint on wood that has already been treated with boiled linseed oil? I want to paint accents on wood that has been already stained rather than try to mask off thin strips to be paintEd.

I did a few tests on pear wood that I had treated with oil and the paint appeared to go on just as well as on bare wood. I didn’t see any difference. Is there anything I’m not aware of?

I used acrylic paint over boiled linseed oil treated wood and everything seems fine one year later (the oil was at least a month old though when I applied the paint). I'm no expert - just sharing my experience.

Is there any reason NOT to use acrylic paint on wood that has already been treated with boiled linseed oil? I want to paint accents on wood that has been already stained rather than try to mask off thin strips to be paintEd.

I did a few tests on pear wood that I had treated with oil and the paint appeared to go on just as well as on bare wood. I didn’t see any difference. Is there anything I’m not aware of?
This is a great question. Acrylics are water-based, and oils are oil-based, so they each have different properties and different needs (in terms of drying time, type of varnish, etc). If you want to paint one first and then the other, it is okay to paint oils over acrylics, but never paint acrylics over oils.

What you should not do is paint a layer of oils and then paint over it with acrylics. Here's why: the acrylic paint will be unable to stick to the oil paint, so it will flake off. This can sometimes happen very quickly, almost as soon as the acrylics dry, or sometimes it can take weeks. In any case, the acrylic will definitely flake off at some point.

P.S. Shellac could be a good base for acrylic paint, just saying.