Endeavour sails

Hi
I have recently completed Endeavour by Occre. In the kit there are 17 sails
Was it usual to raise all sails at the same time or were the square sails only raised with a following wind and the fire to aft sails for tacking?
The boat is very crowded with all sails and it would have required a large crew to manage all at the same time
Thanks

Thanks. That makes sense to me. I have searched the web for any information about which sails are used and when but haven’t found anything

I am not an expert, I only had a short training on the former Ukraine school ship Tovarish (now a museumship at Stralsund, Germany). As you mentioned, it takes a large crew to manage all the sails on a square rigger, that is a disadvantage of square riggers. But they are sturdy and that is a big advantage for sailing in rough waters. So square riggers conquered the oceans. Latin sailed ships require a smaller crew, are faster and can sail higher on the wind. But the sails are large in comparison and the gaffs are sleek. It is not easy to reduce sail area in strong winds. (If I remember right, Chinese junks had a genius way to reduce sail area direct on the sail, but they also were square rigged)
We sailed always with all squaresails set as winds were not so strong. ( But enough to get me seasick ;)). Also with foremast staysail, jib, jager and of course spanker (for turning). When the wind is coming straight from behind, the efficiency of the "shaded" sails is minimal, but normally the wind comes not straight from behind. Maybe the minimal efficiency and the drag is neglectable in comparison to the amount of work to reduce the sails and setting them again.
As winds change, yards are turned accordingly, so all sails are filled. The more the wind comes from the side, the more the yards are turned away from the right angle to the ship's centerline.