What is this detail?

Hello dear colleagues. I'm a beginner modeller, I've only been building wooden ship models for about 4 years (when I have time) and I want to ask you WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF THIS PART ON THE SHIP?

04447v.jpg

flat bottom​

A flat bottom is a ship – the name says it all – with a flat bottom. Instead of having a keel under the boat for stability and manoeuvrability, these ships have side boards.

The side boards of this type of ship are the large wing like wooden plates. These are necessary in order to manoeuvre the ship.

These ships were specially built for the shallow Dutch rivers, moorlands, the ‘Zuiderzee’ and the North Sea. They benefited greatly from this because of the lack of depth. Without a keel they could reach very shallow places, sail with more cargo and sail with the tides.

A number of traditional flat-bottomed ships during a sailing regatta on the Wadden Sea

Flat-bottomed boats also had many advantages for fishermen in the Wadden area. They could fall dry on sandbanks at low tide and come loose again as soon as the water rises. Something that is impossible with a keel.

There are many different types of flat bottoms. But roughly speaking, you can distinguish them in flat-bottomed vessels made to carry cargo and passengers and vessels built and used for fishing. For a long time the ships were used everywhere in the Netherlands as the most common, manoeuvrable and fastest transport. Each region had its own models, types and ‘famous’ shipyards.

taken from

Interesting also:

This forum is very good because there are people here who can help. Just look at the situation in the small state of Lithuania:
THE SITUATION IS SUCH THAT THE FIRST PAGE IS STILL PUBLISHING INFORMATION ABOUT THE 2019 MODEL COMPETITION.
I enjoy communicating with ship modelers.

zvtre.jpg

zvtre.jpg

Actually, they have no effect on stability, given by the hull shape.
leeboards prevent drift to leeward as there is no sharp keel.