USS Constellation - 1797

Ahoy from landlocked Colorado, USA! This is my first post. I have been building ship models for 15 years and am slowly switching from plastic (1/350) to wood. I have built 4 wooden ships - AL U.S. Virginia, AL Scottish Maid, MGS Prince de Neufchatel and Corel HMS Unicorn. My next project will be the AL kit US Constellation - 1797. Well, if you have hung out here for a while, you know that the "1797" kit is really the 1852 re-build. This kit has been a shelf queen for the past 6 years, but after having read Ian Toll's book "Six Frigates", I have become motivated to attempt to build the Six over time. Part of why we love this hobby so much is the research we pour in to our models. I overcame my disappointment that the bargain I got 6 years ago will cost me more money; but hey, what a great way to flex my scratch-building muscles!! I was pleasantly surprised at I already had Chapell's "The American Sailing Navy". I found the original plans in the book (USS Congress), blew them up to AL kit scale and started to work. I will be attempting to modify the kit's false keel to fit the plan set. First step is to reshape the bow lines to the more clipper-shaped bow of the original. I will then figure out how the existing kit slots line up with the plan frame marks.
IMG_2102.jpg
IMG_2101.jpg

Jaybird,
Welcome from a fellow Coloradan! I landed in Loveland, after modelbuilding for 3 years in our 5th wheel, while touring the USA.

I built the kit you are starting on, several decades ago. It has withstood moves from Hawaii to Monterey, CA, to Bahrain, to San Diego, and finally to Loveland, without breakage. A cleaner here managed to wipeout the bowsprit and dolphin striker while dusting, so I have some minor repairs to make.

I hope you enjoy your build as much as I did and if you're ever around Loveland, let me know and you can tour my new shipyard.

Brad

Jaybird,