Rainbow, J-Class America's Cup 1934 - Amati - 1:80, by JKvalvaag

Hi all!
This is my first attempt of a build log and my first attempt of building a wooden model. I purchased the model somewhere around 2011, and started the build. I assembled the bulkheads and a few strips of the first layer of planking. We then moved from an apartment to a house that required quite a lot of work. The model has been dormant until a couple of months ago. Luckily there has been no damage to it and continuing on the build has been very enjoyable. Back in 2011 I was unaware of forums for this hobby, today the forum threads of other builders of various models have been extremely helpful.

This was the state of the model when I left off more than 10 years ago.
IMG_1321.jpeg

Continuing the planking. The paperclip idea was picked up in a forum thread. excellent!
IMG_1392.jpeg

Some details of the first planking.
IMG_1394.jpeg

Yes. my better half is kind enough to let me work on the kitchen counter :) Also, as you can see, new windows just installed.
IMG_1403.jpeg

Getting there with the first layer.
IMG_1420.jpeg

The planks of the first layer are 1 x 3 millimeters.
IMG_1429.jpeg

After sanding of the first application of putty.
IMG_1435.jpeg

Second layer of planking is walnut. The quality of these planks were very poor. The edges of most planks were very ragged, and the width of the planks were uneven. Not very easy to work with :-(
The second layer planks are 0,5 x 3 millimeters.
IMG_1479.jpeg

More planking of the second layer. The white "spots" are residue of the white glue I am using. Regular indoor wood glue.
IMG_1499.jpeg

Initial sanding.
IMG_1500.jpeg

Close up after initial sanding.
IMG_1501.jpeg

Looking a bit better after a couple of coats of shellac. The wood have very large pores.
IMG_1507.jpeg

Some more coats of shellac.
IMG_1514.jpeg

After around 20 coats of shellac the surface is starting to improve.
IMG_1525.jpeg