Introduction

I have been modeling ships for several years off and on. My first kit was mamoli Black Prince, I purchased before I had an ACL repair surgery and knew I would be out of work for 6 months as my job requirement had no light duty. After that I have built several different types of ships, paper models, plastics and wooden of various qualities. Mostly just to practice for the more expensive types I am working on. I have even built several of the lego style warships. I work from home now and have been mostly building plastics ships as of late. My last completed build was the Snowberry which I enjoyed. I am finding now though that I need to work on larger scales as my eyes and dexterity with fingers are not what they used to be. Currently I am working on Revell 1:72 pirate ship. I started out my first career in USCG, before becoming a Police Officer for 20 years. I now work from home in the polymer industry. I live in Southern Mass and retired from the Mass State Police in 2016.

Current Build: REVELL 1:72 Pirate Ship
As Type this though I am looking at the box for the King of the Mississippi (artesania latina) and the Sopwith Camel airplane Kit.

I am looking to build the St Roch, I believe the only available kit is the Billings Kit. I have wanted to model the St Roch for several years now. I did build the Airfix Golden Hind which came out rather nice. But it met a tragic end when a bird ended up in my office and knocked if off the wall shelf. The Golden Hind ended up de-masted with a broken bowsprit which destroyed the forward bulkhead as well, several deck fixtures damaged or destroyed. I may attempt to refloat her one day. I am looking forward to learning from your vast experiences on SOS.

Current: 1:72 Pirate Ship REVEL
Current: Mare Nostrum

On Hold: King of the Mississippi
On Hold: Model Airways Sopwith Camel

Completed: HMS Snowberry
Completed: Air Fix Golden Hind (Sunk by bird attack)
Completed: Mamoli Black Prince. Privateer

Last edited: