decking strips

Hi,

Any suggestions for a good lighter coloured wood type to use as the decking strips for my Cutty Sark? The dark red/brown sapele strips I have are much darker than the actual planks on the ship so I want to change them out. Most of the usual suppliers have limited choice of wood types in the correct size in stock at the moment and I don't want to be waiting weeks. Is maple a good choice for decking, I can get hold of that? Lime wood strips also available but may be a bit too white? I also found a supply of limba wood strips at a very good price but I have no experience of that wood, what is its colour like and how fine grained is it? Has anybody used this type of wood and is it good choice for decking?

Thanks

Dom

1673994724451.png

Hi,

Any suggestions for a good lighter coloured wood type to use as the decking strips for my Cutty Sark? The dark red/brown sapele strips I have are much darker than the actual planks on the ship so I want to change them out. Most of the usual suppliers have limited choice of wood types in the correct size in stock at the moment and I don't want to be waiting weeks. Is maple a good choice for decking, I can get hold of that? Lime wood strips also available but may be a bit too white? I also found a supply of limba wood strips at a very good price but I have no experience of that wood, what is its colour like and how fine grained is it? Has anybody used this type of wood and is it good choice for decking?

Thanks

Dom

View attachment 352047
I have built a deck with all limewood and I didn't like it because it is too light. But of course you could apply a dark stain to get the desired effect. Just my opinion

I have used nordic birch in many models. I cut my own strips of 1 mm or 1,5 mm birch veneer, which is very cheap in this part of world.