3d printer software

can someone reccomend the best cad and slicer software for my 3d resin printer. i am going to unpack it and get started soon and would appreciate all the help i can get as i am a complete newbie to this new and kind of intimidating aspect of modeling.

You and I are in the same boat it seems.

I bought a 3D resin unit which came with software.

Now I am spending as much for Washer and curing unit and finding a way to clean and recycle washing fluid.

I will PM you later

I have a filament printer but I believe the software is the same. I use Tinkercad for simple 3D designs and Autodesk Fusion 360 for more complex designs. Both are free for hobby use. For slicing I use Cura which is pretty much the standard…

Last edited:
you should have checked the system requirements of the printer before buying it. ran into a similar situation with a customer once who had to do an online gas course to find out that his new mac laptop is not supported so i had to setup his mother's windows tower for him to do the course on it.

thanks for the info guys. i will keep chugging along . just found out that most of the software ( including the one that came with the printer) doesnt work with a chromebook. aaaahrg.
Tinkercad should work as it’s web based through your browser of choice. But slicing may be an issue if you can’t find a web based alternative.

Another excellent slicer software worth considering is Chitubox.

Some 3D-printers require their own proprietary software which is matched to their machines and resins. For example, Formlabs 3D printers use a proprietary slicer called "PreForm". PreForm is not designed to work with any other printers. The software is free to download.

Typical CAD and slicer software are very complex programs requiring robust computing and graphics power. Generally, you need a powerful laptop or desktop to run the software using a supported operating system.