Lauro Passenger Liner Roma

This Forum is all about building your ship from pure scratch, with the aid of plans, or even heavy modification or kit bashing. All can be found here.

Moderator: zoly99sask

Seaman
Seaman

Lauro Passenger Liner Roma

Post by 1492 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:38 am

Hello all, this is my first build log on this forum.
After many months being absent from my workbench for personal reasons, I have finally made a return to the tools. A special project has arisen that I have promised my better half I would build in time for her parent's anniversary of their arrival to Australia from Italy in 1965. The Project will be the Immigrant/passenger ship Roma.

A brief history with some background of the ship can be found HERE

The ship will be built to a scale of 1/365, mostly because that scale fits perfectly onto an A3 piece of paper when I print the plans.

The plans for this ship were near impossible to find, however thanks to our member Bob Wilson (Shipbuilder on this forum) I was able to make a start with the deck plans he so generously sent to me. I was also able to get my hands on the hull plans from here (a C3 hull) as the detail was much better especially since I was to use the Bread and Butter technique that was taught to me by Bob's Manual Miniature Steam & Motor ship Construction. At this point I would like to thank Bob Wilson for the support and guidance he has given to me and the inspiration he has provided to change me from a person who believed ‘I could never do that’ to a person who is willing to give it a go. After reading both his manuals I gained the confidence and began to feel that what was previously impossible can now be done. Although it would seem that I followed Bob's chapter on the Kenya build, the truth is that all the manual's tips and construction guides helped immensely.

So onto the build:
P2220253.JPG