East Indiaman Galleon Deadite

This Forum is all about building your ship from pure scratch, with the aid of plans, or even heavy modification or kit bashing. All can be found here.

Moderator: zoly99sask

JosephH
Petty Officer First Class

East Indiaman Galleon Deadite

Post by JosephH » Sun May 14, 2017 5:20 am

Ok guys I am new to actual tall ship building other than when I was younger I built the Revel 3 sister ships the United States, President, and the USS Constitution.

for 35+ years I have built radio controlled aircraft and designed them and full sized aircraft for museums. the military, Cities etc. well getting older and less places to fly due to all the drone people causing problems at airports etc the FAA cracking down some so with 2 grandsons ages 5 and 7 into ships namely Pirate ships they wanted me to build them a pirate ship for their room and one we can go to the local park cement pond and sail. The parks pond is really nice about 4' deep and the sides are all concrete with a sidewalk all around and would say it is about 1/4 mile all the way around it kinda like a school football field with track around it for track and field races. they also have 2 really nice fountains and an island in the middle of the pond. will find pictures later.

I have also build the usual speed boats and tug boats for sailing but these tall ships a totally new beasty. due to all the scale work I have done i am pretty anal on building things like they were originally done to the best of my abilities and thus my tall ships must be Plank on frame not plank on bulkhead.

I have named this ship the Deatite after the campy 80's classic with Bruce Campbell Evil dead series. The story is basically about Ash Williams (Bruce Campbell) listening to a tape he found in an old cabin where the owner was reciting passages from the Book of the Dead and unleashed the demons from hell called Deadites. and the trilogy of movies is all about Ash trying to hunt down and return them to hell.