La Candelaria 1:85 Occre

This Build Log Section is for Wood Ships. Enter your Build Log here. It is advisable for others to follow your Build Log to start your post such as "Build Log: HMS Ship name"

Moderator: zoly99sask

JeanL
Seaman
Seaman

La Candelaria 1:85 Occre

Postby JeanL » Wed Nov 12, 2014 12:45 pm

I started this build in January 2014 and found this forum recently, so I have decided to post a build log. As this is my first build, I had no idea what I was doing (still don`t really know what I am doing :D ), this led to numerous errors and things that could have been improved weren`t. I hope that I learnt from my errors and that they won`t happen again.

Anyway, the planking is held by 10 bulkheads (for about a 50 cm long hull). I had no difficulties gluing them on (at least that).
blukhead.jpg
blukhead.jpg (81.47 KiB) Viewed 2697 times

Once done I had to glue the reinforcements, which I did in a hurry :? , So I didn`t take a look at the plans and glued it too low, this led to a big problem to the bow area when planking. I fixed that by sawing of some of the planking, gluing cardboard on the inside and put some wood filler on the cardboard.
error.JPG
error.JPG (113.6 KiB) Viewed 2697 times

After that I had to do the deck planking, unfortunately I followed the instructions to do it. They told me to glue the strips on the plywood and once done to draw the planks on with a pencil. Finally I had to stain it in oak colour. Some months afterwards, when I got interested on how other people build model ships did I read about caulking. Well I am not happy at all with the result.
deck.jpg
deck.jpg (77.81 KiB) Viewed 2697 times