Build Log: San Juan Spanish Galleon S.XVI-Artesinia Latina

This Build Log Section is for Wood Ships. Enter your Build Log here. It is advisable for others to follow your Build Log to start your post such as "Build Log: HMS Ship name"

Moderator: zoly99sask

Brian
Petty Officer Third Class

Build Log: San Juan Spanish Galleon S.XVI-Artesinia Latina

Postby Brian » Wed May 14, 2014 9:38 am

Hi, this is a 1:30 scale model and will measure L:520 x H:615 x W:126 when completed.
Being a newbie this is my first attempt at a wooden ship but have previously completed two plastic models (Revell's "Batavia" and Airfix's "HMS Victory") just as a trail run really.

I am starting this log having already completed over half the ship, had I known I was going to be doing a build log I would of taken more and perhaps better photo's.

Not sure about anywhere else in the world but I had real problem getting a ship to build that I could buy outright and not enter into a subscription receiving a few parts every couple of weeks or so (far too expensive that way) having been let down by 2 suppliers I eventually found this ship and upon opening the box was impressed with the quality, all the laser cut sheets were cleanly cut but I did find out its better to sand the burnt edges down as the glue doesn't seem to stick so well.
Attachments
SAM_0171.jpg
The kit laid out, 354 different parts.
SAM_0171.jpg (51.19 KiB) Viewed 5008 times
SAM_0174.jpg
SAM_0174.jpg (100.46 KiB) Viewed 5008 times
SAM_0175.jpg
All the ribs went together with only a little sanding to the joints.
I did use clamps & squared them up but not shown here.
SAM_0175.jpg (125.19 KiB) Viewed 5002 times
SAM_0176.jpg
SAM_0176.jpg (139.13 KiB) Viewed 5002 times
SAM_0177.jpg
Jumped ahead a bit now, not having kept a full photographic record of my build.