Pen Duick Build Log

This Build Log Section is for Wood Ships. Enter your Build Log here. It is advisable for others to follow your Build Log to start your post such as "Build Log: HMS Ship name"
penduick
Seaman
Seaman

Pen Duick Build Log

Postby penduick » Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:28 am

Hi all,

I am new to this. I bought my first wood kid over the weekend - the Pen Duick.
The instructions are rather vague, and I would appreciate some help from experienced people.

Here's what I need help with
1) I got to this stage where I need to put together the 'steersman hatch', but the pieces are too short. I know it is far more likely that I have assembled something wrong than the parts be inaccurate.But I have backtracked my steps and am confident I didn't make a mistake along the way. I have some spare balsa wood that I can cut to the right size but I don't know if that will make something not fit later on. What should I do?

2)The instructions say 'from the bow towards the centre of the hull, very carefully file down the outside surfaces of the decks and stiffeners of the bow, stern and false keel to achieve a good base.' While that may be obvious to some, I am rather confused as to what and how much to file down. Again, any clues?

3) Since the next step seems to start planking, I have been told I need a plank bender. I have seen one that looks like a pair of pliers and one that you plug into the wall. Which one would you recommend, and what other tools will I need moving forward?
Attachments
steersman hatch2.jpg
steersman hatch2.jpg (261.68 KiB) Viewed 255 times
file down.jpg
file down.jpg (216.25 KiB) Viewed 255 times
Last edited by penduick on Wed Apr 12, 2017 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
GemmaJF
Petty Officer First Class
Petty Officer First Class

Re: Pen duick - I am stuck!

Postby GemmaJF » Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:43 am

penduick wrote:Hi all,

Here's what I need help with