The Black Pearl 1/50 first build!

This Build Log Section is for Wood Ships. Enter your Build Log here. It is advisable for others to follow your Build Log to start your post such as "Build Log: HMS Ship name"
GemmaJF
Petty Officer First Class

The Black Pearl 1/50 first build!

Postby GemmaJF » Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:39 am

Welcome to my build log of the ZHL Black Pearl, my kit is the 1:50 "Golden Version 2016"

I am a complete newbie to model ships and this is my first build.

Link to ZHL site showing kit contents etc:

http://www.woodmodelboatbuilder.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=3&products_id=259

Links to Free plans of the Black Pearl from a Chinese modeler who scratch built the Pearl

Main Plans Page:http://mellpapa.lolipop.jp/BPzumen-01~07.html

Home page of build (has some extra links to more plans): http://mellpapa.lolipop.jp/BP001.html

Link to my Pinterest board of Black Pearl reference images

https://uk.pinterest.com/gemmajfairchil ... ack-pearl/

Link to Pirates Wikia Gallery, screen shots, studio set shots, plenty of very good detail shots for the model builder

http://pirates.wikia.com/wiki/Black_Pearl/Gallery

Other Black Pearl Build Logs:

On SOS:

viewtopic.php?f=52&t=1082

viewtopic.php?f=52&t=1091

Elsewhere:

https://translate.google.com/translate? ... &sandbox=1

I've made a start so will bring you all up to date

Kit inspection revealed a broken stern lantern, this was quickly replaced by ZHL.

Otherwise all was present and correct.

Bulkheads and decks fitted, roughly faired. Number 10 bulkhead was a little under-size, has strips fitted to fatten it up. Next step with this is to add bow and stern blocks in balsa:

IMG_6575.jpg
IMG_6575.jpg (327.73 KiB) Viewed 1481 times

The rear bulkhead has some detail on it including the face of "Poseidon", it was not well defined on the part, so I made a new face in air dry modeling clay:

IMG_6584.jpg
IMG_6584.jpg (323.32 KiB) Viewed 1481 times