Enterprise Maryland 1799

This Build Log Section is for Wood Ships. Enter your Build Log here. It is advisable for others to follow your Build Log to start your post such as "Build Log: HMS Ship name"

Moderator: zoly99sask

jlowe1224
Seaman
Seaman

Enterprise Maryland 1799

Postby jlowe1224 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 2:14 pm

I recently started this model ship and I haven't found any other builds of this exact model. There are similar ones but small features are different which are throwing me off. Im stuck on beginning to plank the hull, despite hours of research.
jlowe1224
Seaman
Seaman

Re: Enterprise Maryland 1799

Postby jlowe1224 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:35 pm

This is my first build and the stern construction is throwing me off. Here are a few picture of the issue I have with beginning planking the hull. figuring out how the top few of the stern fit is driving me insane, and I think my model is off on the back because there is no way I can have the top board (whatever the board is called that is right under the deck surface) be straight all the way to the back because there is just empty space. Looking at other builds, same model but different company, the back is slightly different, where the two blocks in the back come down much further, similar to that shown in the diagram. As of now it seems impossible to plank the stern with the way it is. It really just doesn't make any sense.
Attachments
diagram.jpg
diagram.jpg (43.52 KiB) Viewed 499 times
sideview.jpg
sideview.jpg (25.57 KiB) Viewed 499 times
edge.jpg
edge.jpg (18.68 KiB) Viewed 499 times
view.jpg
view.jpg (15.68 KiB) Viewed 499 times
example1.jpg
example1.jpg (60.66 KiB) Viewed 499 times
jlowe1224
Seaman
Seaman

Postby jlowe1224 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 4:36 pm

more pictures of another build
Attachments
example2.jpg
example2.jpg (21.13 KiB) Viewed 499 times
example3.jpg
example3.jpg (51.16 KiB) Viewed 499 times
example4.jpg
example4.jpg (53.33 KiB) Viewed 499 times
Donnie
Senoir Chief Petty Officer